Here’s why I don’t make new year’s resolutions…


Hey everyone, we’re almost to the end of February. Did you make any new year’s resolutions? And if you did, how is it coming along? 🙂

Some years back, I stopped making resolutions. I don’t know if it’s cos I’m older now and more jaded. Or maybe I’m just tired of setting myself up to feel bad and I’m older now and realizing life is too short to spend too much time feeling bad. Back when I used to still make resolutions, I always resolve to write on this blog more often. But because I don’t make such resolutions anymore, I completely don’t have to feel bad that my last post was 4 months ago!  I think you’re beginning to see how this non-resolution-making-business can totally work to our favour. 😉 Besides, those of you who have been following this blog know that I’m a science geek and I only believe in things that are backed by science and good statistics – and the statistics for people who are successful in keeping to their resolutions? A mere 8% (according to a study done by University of Scranton)! That’s not very good odds at all!

SOOooo…if you haven’t kept up with your resolutions to lose weight, eat healthier, study more, sleep less in lectures, be nicer to your siblings, save more $$, manage time better etc etc., there’s no need to feel bad! Scientific research says that there IS a better way to be happier, healthier and do better in school that is not related to making new year’s resolutions – PRACTICE GRATITUDE. Researchers have found that people who practice gratitude regularly increases their long term happiness by at least 25%!  Professor Robert Emmons who has been researching gratitude for the past decade also found significant benefits in terms of less visits to the doctor,  being more resistant to stress and trauma in life, having a higher sense of self-worth etc etc.

I hope to spend more time writing on this topic in greater depth in future on this blog (note to self: this is not a new year’s resolution since it’s already mid Feb) but for now, suffice it to know that beginning a gratitude practice doesn’t have to be complicated! Check out the youtube video above for some ideas or try out the three good things exercise that Dr. Martin Seligman came up with (more on the research on this in another post). Apparently there are now nifty ‘gratitude apps’ you can use to make practicing gratitude literally an exercise at your finger tips.  Something for you to mull over this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

